Reuters Journalists of the Year Awards 2014

15 Apr 2015

trophiesThe Reuters Journalists of the Year Awards were held in New York last month, honoring the people responsible for the best of Reuters journalism, their strength, passion, courage and commitment.

Steve Adler, Editor in Chief, Reuters said, “On full display tonight is the enormous scope of the work Reuters performs in our 200 locations around the world, and in every medium. I believe we are unique in terms of that astonishing breadth, covering – with equal authority – politics, war, diplomacy, economics, innovation, commodities & energy, natural disasters and general news, health, sports, entertainment, business, regulation, law, every aspect of the world of finance and more.”

We are pleased to be able to share these videos of the nominees in each category and we congratulate all who were nominated and the winners.

Winner of Baron Award: Samia Nakhoul – For her great skill as a journalist, her personal courage, her expertise on the Middle East, her ability to attract top talent both internal and external, and the great regard in which her peers in the industry hold her.

Nominees for Text Reporter of the Year – Winner: Ned Parker – For his agenda-setting scoops and special reports from Iraq’s front lines.

Nominees for Photo of the Year  – Winner: A Brief Encounter: Youssef Boudlal – A girl from the minority Yazidi sect, fleeing the violence in the Iraqi town of Sinjar.

Nominees for Enterprise Reporting of the Year – Winner: The Echo Chamber: Joan Biskupic, Janet Roberts, John Shiffman – For their comprehensive examination of the Supreme Court’s secretive appeals process.

Nominees for Video Story of the Year – Winner: Ukraine Crisis

Nominees for Scoop of the Year – Winner: Saudis warn of low oil prices: Ron Bousso and Joshua Schneyer

Nominees for Snapper of the Year – Winner: Hezron Selvi – For his efforts training local staff and rolling out Fastwire to Europe.

Nominees for Graphic of the Year – Winner: 2014 FIFA World Cup graphics: Robert Cole, Matthew Weber, Richard Beales and Maryanne Murray

Nominees for Commentary and Analysis Reporter of the Year – Joint winner: John Kemp – For exemplary explanatory and analytical coverage of the oil price rout and John Sinclair Foley, Breakingviews — For coverage of China’s economy and financial system

Nominees for Reporting Team of the Year – Winner: James Pomfret, Greg Torode, Benjamin Lim, Anne Marie Roantree, David Lague, Charlie Zhu and the Hong Kong bureau – For coverage of the Hong Kong protests and the great purge under way in Xi Jinping’s China

Nominees for Desk Editor of the Year – Winner: Ross Colvin – For his rigor and skill at editing Top News stories

winner photo

Nominees for Video Journalist of the Year – Winner: Claire Watson — For running coverage of the two huge sports events – the Winter Olympics in Sochi and the World Cup in Brazil

Nominees for Editor of the Year – Joint -winner: Anne Marie Roantree — For producing distinguished coverage of the Hong Kong crisis in her first year as a bureau chief, and Paul Thomasch — For transforming the way the business and our customers see Reuters America

Nominees for Photo Journalist of the Year – Winner: Kai Pfaffenbach – For his outstanding photography skills displayed while covering domestic and international stories throughout the year

Nominees for Breaking News Coverage of the Year – Winner: European Central Bank coverage: Paul Carrel, Paul Taylor, Noah Barkin, John O’Donnell, Andreas Framke

Nominees for Best Storytelling Innovation – Winner: Live-blogging of the year’s most important breaking stories: Brian Tracey, Cassandra Garrison, Linda Noakes

Nominees for Story of the Year – Winner: Ukraine Crisis and Comrade Capitalism: Russia/Ukraine teams

Download a pdf of all of the nominees and winners

Images: Samia Nakhoul with her Baron award; Reuters Photo Journalist and Video Journalists of the Year, Kai Pfaffenbach and Claire Watson